I spent about 3 hours adjusting the theme, picture, title and name. I drank one earl grey, one peppermint and a mini bodum of black coffee before I realised that the reason why I was experiencing such a bloody blogmare, was because I was hungry.

I went downstairs and cooked up the leftover ravioli I’d made on Thursday. Reminiscent of some prehistoric   mermaid’s purse, it looked as though 2 days of chilling had scuppered all my efforts. Luckily, the greyishness turned to creamy yellow when boiled, and they tasted so delicious that as usual, food made me happier!

I think it’s incredible the way it does that! So I therefore thought I would dedicate my first ever post to my grey ravioli. It did me proud!

(Note to self – a photograph would be helpful next time!)

Ingredients: 

For the pasta

 

  • 250g ‘oo’ flour
  • 2 eggs

For the filling

  • Half a carrier bag of nettles (washed in cold water, boiled for just over 5 mins, then squeezed of excess water)
  • About 200g cream cheese
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • lemon juice
  • black pepper
  • 50g strong blue cheese
  1. Mix the flour and eggs with your hands to form a smooth dough.
  2. Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead for 5 minutes. Wrap in cling film and sit to rest in the fridge for 15 minutes.
  3. Thinly chop the cooked nettle with the grated or sliced garlic.Place both in a bowl. Stir in the cream cheese, lemon juice, black pepper with the nettle. Crumble in the blue cheese. Stir. (Try and adjust to bespoke it to your taste)
  4. Remove the dough from the fridge and divide into 4 chunks. Put each chunk through the flattening part of your pasta maker (I don’t know the technical term!) and tighten the setting each time until it’s on about 6-7 – any thinner than that and it tends to tear when stretched over the filling. *
  5. Place a dollop of about 8 cm in from the end of the dough strip (both severely un-technical terms once again!) and after gently dampening the area around the filling, fold the 8cm gap over the filling to make a tidy parcel. **
  6. Because the pasta will be thicker than rubbery shop-bought stuff, they will take longer to cook but it will honestly be worth it. Tonnes more flavour and a great texture that really can’t be found on the supermarket shelf. About 6-8 mins should do the trick.

NB:

*If you don’t have a pasta maker that’s cool. I did this recipe a couple of times with just a rolling-pin and it is harder work, but you get the added bonus of having a bit of a work out – and that can never be a bad thing!)

**Please note that the parcels don’t necessarily have to be to perfectionist standards – just as long as the filling has been well closed off so water can’t get into the tasty bit when cooked.

I’ve used nettles here. It’s the beginning of the summer time, so while gardeners across Britain rage war on the triffid-like intruders of their herbaceous borders, I get excited about the prospect of not having to buy spinach for the next few months. But you can use spinach, kale or really whatever bit of veg you can find. I’ve also used up the remnants of a bog sauce (Bolognese) as a filling and reckon any pureed sweet potato, squash or parsnip would be delicious when added with some cheesy remnants.

Be creative, be excited by the possibility of using up bits that you might have thrown away and be excited about finding stuff for free! I know foraging is trendy at the moment amongst the hippies and hipsters of the world, and could very easily be pooh-poohed at, but the question I ask is – why wouldn’t you? It’s FREE! And who doesn’t like free stuff?

I think that’s it. First ever proper blog completed.

I think this means I have to go back to the technical bit now…urgh!

TBC, Rosie x

 

Super-dooper-Pasta Makers

Foraging – ‘Food For Free’ by Richard Mabey (Who else?!)

Oh! And check out this too – it’s not a thesaurus – it’s actually a culinary bible – The Flavour Thesaurus by Niki Segnit

