It may happen that every so often that EMployment makes you feel almost as shoddy as UNemployment does.

This is horrendously UNgrateful.

However, with my lunchbox challenge still not accomplished, my job provides little to no opportunity to be creative. Even my clothes have dulled to a drab navy blue combo; red lipstick lies abandoned at the bottom of my make-up bag… Frustration takes over and I am left desperately seeking solace in fairy-liquid coffee and an unnecessary cigarette. This is not me.

Yesterday, I stomped home, my whole evening dangerously compromised by my ‘Moping Playlist’ (Little Bear by the Guillemots playing a major role on this emotional cliff-hanger)…

Thank god for Pat Benetar. I don’t know what that Queen of Empowerment looks like, but if I knew, and if I saw her I would actually kiss her!

I don’t know if she likes fish, but she inspired this recipe and she made me feel better. Cheers Pat!

(This is an interpretation of a Rick Stein recipe – but I reckon mine might be a bit healthier…)

Ingredients

50g butter (or healthier equivalent)

Seeds from 3 split cardamom pods

¼ tsp turmeric

½ cinnamon stick

3 fresh bay leaves

Pepper corns

450g basmati rice

3 fillets of fresh trout

2 handfuls of green beans

A good pouring of peas

2 handfuls of fresh spinach

3 eggs

Small bunch of parsley

½ a lemon

Pre-heat the oven to 75°C (ish) and put a shallow dish to keep hot.

Method

  1. In a heavy bottomed pan melt the butter with the cardamom seeds, turmeric, 2 of the bay leaves and 2 pepper corns (semi-crushed). Put to one side.
  2. Cook the rice.
  3. In a separate saucepan, boil about 2 inches of water with the remaining bay leaf, 3 pepper corns, a good squeeze of lemon. Once boiled, place the trout fillets, skin side down, for about a minute. Place into the oven-hot dish, cover with foil and put in the oven.
  4. Add a little of the fishy water (!) to the spicey butter. Add cooked rice and stir until completely yellow! Cover and keep in the oven.
  5. In a clean saucepan, boil a load of water and cook the green beans. Don’t overcook! When they still have a bit of crunch, add the peas. Strain over the spinach to partially cook.
  6. Add the veg, flake the fish, snip the parsley and stir all evenly into the spicey rice.
  7. Boil a couple of eggs to perfection. (I’m rubbish at this – so ask Delia on timings!)
  8. Pop on some plates and feast!

This made me feel a lot better.

Word Of The Wise: Apparently, kedgeree is a great hangover cure… Please note, it might be better to be organised and cook this before you’re hungover. Otherwise it could just cause a big old mess. And cooking and handling fish is not what you want to do with a queasy-belly.

TBC

Rosie X

