Is your glass half full or half empty?

I don’t think it matters. Particularly if your bottle of sloe gin is half empty. After drinking half a bottle, I don’t think that question would slosh around in your head for too long!

This week has been an odd one. I made the first serious steps to making the move to London. I finished my job in Hampshire, I sent out numerous job applications, I have not bought one coffee in any lovely coffee shops…no matter how sorely I was tempted! I won’t go into loads of detail because I have learnt that the majority of people have been in this situation – a cocktail of cheeriness and sheer misery – and to waste a WHOLE blog post on that would be dull.

Instead, I will tell you about what it is like when you return home after a week of maps, pound signs and oyster cards, the re-emergence of the bastard wisdom tooth, blisters ( – bare feet and new shoes) and so many pieces of advice that you feel as slow as a four year old laptop wheezing between clicks.

At the risk of sounding like a total cheese ball (my sister’s favourite snack choice), I could have the worst week in the whole of London and to be at home is the best feeling in the world.

Martin’s Book Sale with my dad. Wrecking another pair of tights playing with Monty. Lots of bread. Annnnnd…
The grand bottling of sloe gin.

The struggle was deciding whether to choose a good picture of Monty or the Gin… I chose Monty. I am fast becoming a Mad Dog Woman. Please employ me.

Having seen (and smelt) the product of almost a year of marinading (?) in mega kilner jars in the depths of our garage,  I have set  myself the task of realighting my excitement for foraging. And this is the time, is it not?

So to conclude.

A half full bottle of sloe gin provides at least another hour and a half of sloe tippling. A half empty bottle of sloe gin means you’ve probably had a really good time of tippling already. There’s no need to be greedy now…

(Some sort of foraging recipe to follow this weekend)

TBC

Rosie x

P.S.

I know it’s old, but here’s some autumn listening…

Two Weeks by Grizzly Bear

