I fancied a little baking sesh this afternoon. After hearing a reference on the radio to some poor celebrities muffin tops, I thought I would bake the humble muffin as a mark of respect. For there is nothing wrong with a bit of muffinishness.

Unfortunately, in the same way that a too small pair of Levis fail to hold in the cosiness of a waistline, my muffin cases failed to withstand my extreme overfilling…

This is the result.

A Ginger's Muffin Tops

A Ginger’s Muffin Tops

Although it may resemble some kind of bizarre contemporary artwork, I think I rather like it.

What elegance!

What elegance!

 

And it really does taste blooming good.

 

Gingerbread Muffins

I.

280g plain flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 heaped tsp ground ginger

1 tsp cinnamon

A fair scraping of nutmeg

  • Sieve all of the above together in a large mixing bowl. Pop to one side

II.

1 egg

85g granulated sugar

85g melted butter

6 tbsp black treacle

2 tbsp honey

200 ml water

  • In a separate bowl, gently whisk all of the above ingredients. Add to the dry ingredients until there are no lumps.

III.

5 big chunks of stem ginger chopped up really small

  • Stir into the mixture, share between 10-12 muffin cases and bake in a 200°C oven.

It’s probably best to share them out between 10-12 medium muffin cases unless you would prefer them looking slightly overexcited? I say, embrace the muffin tops!

 

Enjoy!

Rosie x

 

 

